Thoughts on the disappearances in Mexico from the POV of one of the Mothers of the Disappeared (Winter Blog #4)

Relatives carry photos of some of the 43 missing students of the Ayotzinapa teachers' training college during a protest to mark the eleven-month anniversary of their disappearance in Mexico City, Mexico on August 26, 2015.

“Where are our boys?!” shout the people of Mexico, and there is still no good answer from the government. Over a year ago, 43 students were kidnapped and killed on a bus, by local police no less! And what does the government do? They insist that there was just some confusion as they handed the students over to a gang group, which in turn killed them. But where is the poof of this action? Where was the thorough investigation? Where are these boys bodies if they were killed? Why hasn’t the government done more to give justice to what happened?

If the government was really so interested in helping solve this, why do they keep claiming that all these students were cremated when an expert group has looked into it and says there is no evidence to support this? How can they claim to have solved this case when the investigation was marred by the incompetence of the supposed investigators?

Where is the justice here? Bring justice to these students! Give the parents of these children closure!

Government, answer truthfully, where are our boys?


So, I tried? There isn’t much more to say than that…

I personally find it very hard to write from the perspective of another person, partially because I find it hard to write, partially because I sometimes find it hard to really get into someones head. This was especially hard, because I have never experienced something like this. For one, I am not a parent. I have never faced the possibility of  loosing  a child like these people obviously have. I have never faced the loss of a loved one in general, so I really have nothing that would come close to this. The family that I have lost is either distant relatives, or they passed before I was born. The only loss I have felt is that of loosing friends and pets. When that s compared to the loss of a child…there really is no comparison. Secondly, I have been very fortunate to grow up without the few of being harmed by the police/government personally because of where I grew up. I was fortunate enough to live in a good neighborhood, and went to a new school, in a rather progressive state. I have never had to really worry about whether or not I would make it home or not. However, even though it was so difficult, it was something that I have done, as it forces me to realize 1) how fortunate I truly am, and 2) it makes me really think about what people outside my narrow scope have to go through. And though I in no way believe I have done this justice, I am still glad that I was able to do it.  So, in summary, while this was very difficult, it was educational and I feel like I am bettered for having learned of these peoples struggles.

Leave a comment